Massachusetts prohibits the operation of a motor vehicle by drivers with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or higher. Massachusetts state law includes lower BAC limits for drivers under the age of 18 (.02) and commercial drivers (.04).
The Bay State has stringent laws governing drunk driving, and when you drink and drive in Massachusetts you are risking your finances and future. First-time convictions often result in the suspension of your driver’s license for a minimum of 90 days.
Know Your Rights
Those convicted of a second OUI/DUI must install an Interlock Ignition Device in order to enjoy restricted driving privileges. Drivers who refuse to install this device will lose all driving rights for anywhere between 1 – 6 years.
In Massachusetts, a defendant may agree to a plea bargain reducing a drunk driving charge to a case of “wet reckless” driving. While there is no official provision for this sort of maneuver, an experienced criminal defense attorney may be able to orchestrate the plea bargain nevertheless.
Call Thomas Whitney Attorney at Law Today
If you are currently facing DUI charges, contact Thomas Whitney Attorney at Law at (413) 256-6234 to learn more about your rights and options. With over 39 years’ experience in criminal defense matters, Mr. Whitney is committed to helping you obtain the outcome you deserve.